Black/white History = Ourstory

Cancer

A malignant and invasive growth, tending to recur after excision and to metastasize to other sites.

Racism

A belief/doctrine that inherent differences among the various human races determine cultural or individual achievement, usually involving the idea that one’s own race is superior and has the right to rule others, or, put simply hatred or intolerance of another race or other races.

 

Now, I know that I’m not the first to point out the similarities between cancer and racism but I do want to relate this comparison to the current affairs as I see them in South Africa. As part of a minority in Africa, I’ve noticed that there’s a lot of (mostly subtle) hatred and intolerance specific only to coloured people. We have the epitome of something new and beautiful on this planet and the name of this new and beautiful desert flower befits the term most associated with South Africa; Rainbow nation. We have a new being and the last time this happened, Neanderthals started mating with Humans. As a coloured man in Africa, it has come to my attention that I’m expected to fully take on black culture along with all its isms. I’m also expected to adopt white culture and conform it its standards. I had no problem doing this, my ability to be a chameleon in society is something I’m born with. However, as I’ve adapted accordingly to the various situations my life has put me in, I’ve noticed consternation when I choose not to adapt but instead to embrace my non-whiteness and non-blackness. I was recently made aware that some people hold the belief that the race of coloureds are a mistake to the human species. This saddens me deeply, knowing that this new breed of human, this mixed race gem that sits in the flames of the destruction wrought by racism which only serve to highlight the diamond surface of this colourful wonder. We go by many names, coloured, mix-race, bruinmense, red and the list goes on, just like the list of different ethnic backgrounds we all [coloureds] have.

As we move forward in time, there will be more and more of us and inevitably, there won’t be any “black” or “white” people. Everyone will be coloured. And yet…we sit here with our population of coloureds, suffering in the Cape Flats and beyond. Where is the justice I ask? We, who have no fight in this game of racism between blacks and whites. We are an entirely new race of being and the cancer that is racism is slowly trying to kill us off. We need a cure, we need to celebrate who we are, as coloureds, around the world.

#colouredstorymonth

Leave a Reply

