An evaluation

Today was a good day.

Today, as people shared their backgrounds and the work that they’ve done, I considered how lucky I was to be part of such an accomplished group.
The Oranjezict City Farm is a community garden based in Cape Town. When I started volunteering there, I didn’t know what to expect. It’s become clear that I just can’t have any expectations, what with so little experience in the world of urban gardening. The team behind the city farm is friendly, welcoming and extremely down to Earth. A community conscious group with realistic goals that drive the competitive market spirit of the farm.

As I sat there and admired the unfurling view of potential futures, I couldn’t help but give thanks. Thanks to the people who put their time and effort towards projects that are risky at best. Thanks to the food rebels who get their hands dirty, planting meals in advance and giving Nature a chance to shine once again. I don’t know what the future has in store for me, good or bad, but I do know that I’m finally starting to understand what it means to value the future. Here’s to increasing that value, with places like OZCF, South Africa is in good hands.

What do you value? – http://wp.me/p4eWn6-l2

Leave a Reply

