Categorizing a #population

The first thing I’ve had to come to terms with is accepting that people don’t like being categorized.

The second thing that I’ve had to come to terms with is acknowledging that people are being categorized. By people.

Unfortunately for Southern Africa, the past is smeared with the blood of the categorized. Racially categorized that is. Unfortunately for me, in my amateur anthropologist state of mind, I find myself torn between different methods of segmenting Cape Town’s population.

Market segmentation involves a specific purpose, I’m looking for a neutral approach. Racial profiling has been ruined by apartheid and can’t be trusted any longer. As time goes on, I will go into detail but for now, I think language might be a good place to start.

Did you know that English ranks 5th (jointly) when it comes to languages spoken at home (in South Africa)?

Leave a Reply

